Can Halloween Be Healthy?

By Shannon Gosney
In Lifestyle
September 26, 2009
21 Comments
2888 Views

You’ve just gone trick or treating around the neighborhood with your little one(s) and you see the plastic orange pumpkin is almost full of sugary sweets.  You dump the pumpkin out and sift through it.  You find chocolate bars, gumballs, suckers, caramels, sugar, sugar, sugar.  I remember when I went trick or treating as a kid, there was a neighbor that would give out cans of soup.  As a kid I thought, “What the heck?  Is he really giving us soup?”  Now as a parent, I see what he was trying to do.  He was trying to give out something healthy to the kids trick or treating at his house.

I was just introduced to a new campaign called Trick Or Treat Me.  Hershey’s and Organic Valley want to spread the word about milk in single serve, shelf stable cartons.  When I first saw the milk cartons (before I read about it), I thought “That’s a good idea, but what if the milk hasn’t been refrigerated and the kids get food poisoning?”  That’s why they have designed chocolate milk that is shelf stable.  Shelf stable milk products remain fresh for months and can be kept in multiple temperatures on the shelf with no loss of taste or freshness.  How awesome is that?

You can also find Trick Or Treat Me on Twitter.  You can choose if you want your friends to be treated or tricked.  For each friend you choose to trick or treat, you’ll be supporting the World Wildlife Fund because TetraPak will donate 10 cents for each one!  Plus, on the web, you can upload headshots of yourself and your friends – placing them on top of the bodies of  dancing monsters, ready to trick or treat at your friends’ doors.  Be sure to check out the fun today!

Post?slot_id=55042&url=http%3a%2f%2fsocialspark

About Has 4152 Posts

Shannon Gurnee is the author of RedheadMom formerly "The Mommy-Files", a national blog with a loyal following. She has a Bachelor's Degree in Marriage, Family, and Human Development with a Minor in Business Management. Shannon and her husband, Frank, have a large family with 6 awesome kids and love living on the Central Coast near San Luis Obispo, California, as well as traveling around the world. A full-time Social Media and Professional Blogger, Shannon also serves as a National Brand Ambassador for many well-known companies. Her blog focuses on motherhood, family fun activities, traveling, fashion, beauty, technology, wedding ideas and recipes while providing professional opinions on products, performances, restaurants, and a variety of businesses.

21 Responses to “Can Halloween Be Healthy?”

  1. LyndiLou says:

    Soup!!! Oh that makes me laugh! SO CUTE!!! What a good heart he had! 😉

    I LOVE the chocolate milk idea! That is SOOO sooo SOOO fun! Thank you so much for sharing this!

  2. Doreen says:

    Soup, that’s cute!! I never got soup when I was little, just all the SUGAR!!! 🙂

  3. Tori says:

    What a clever {and simply} way to help raise $$ for a good cause!

  4. Kayla says:

    That’s pretty darn cool!!
    When I was younger, I always thought it was awesome to get something healthy-I know. I’m weird. Lol

  5. Shelly says:

    Hi Shannon! I’ve posted a blog award for you. Stop by when you get a chance. Hope you have a great week!

    http://atticgirl.blogspot.com/2009/09/two-blog-awards-from-some-great-bloggy.html

  6. Terrific idea… thanks for sharing!
    I remember one older couple that gave my kids dimes wihen they were little, but also wanted them to come in the house to see their decorations – I was with them of course – my kids were so polite, I was SO proud of them, even though they just wanted to get to the next house for MORE CANDY!!!

  7. QPgpDG I want to say – thank you for this!

  8. sounds good I will check it out and see about doing it

  9. Great. Now i can say thank you!,

  10. I bookmarked this link. Thank you for good job!,

  11. I want to say – thank you for this!,

  12. Shelbie Johnston says:

    That is great, LOVE the chcocolate milk idea, how cool!

  13. denise says:

    Soup is funny. I do like the idea of chocolate milk. I have not had too much of a problem with the candy. My kids have food allergies, so they trade the candy for a present and a homemade, allergy-free brownie.

    denise_22315(at)yahoo(dot)com

  14. Wedrild says:

    I bookmarked this link. Thank you for good job!

  15. Kediraviel says:

    Great site. Keep doing., Allied Bayshore Newark De, [url=”http://binarymuse.fortunecity.com/allied-bayshore-newark-de.html”]Allied Bayshore Newark De[/url], http://binarymuse.fortunecity.com/allied-bayshore-newark-de.html Allied Bayshore Newark De, Alli The Diet Pill, [url=”http://binarymuse.fortunecity.com/alli-the-diet-pill.html”]Alli The Diet Pill[/url], http://binarymuse.fortunecity.com/alli-the-diet-pill.html Alli The Diet Pill, All In One Copier Scanner, [url=”http://atlantisart.fortunecity.com/all-in-one-copier-scanner.html”]All In One Copier Scanner[/url], http://atlantisart.fortunecity.com/all-in-one-copier-scanner.html All In One Copier Scanner, Allegra D Dosage, [url=”http://atlantisart.fortunecity.com/allegra-d-dosage.html”]Allegra D Dosage[/url], http://atlantisart.fortunecity.com/allegra-d-dosage.html Allegra D Dosage, Allied Harris Duplication, [url=”http://wallengren.fortunecity.com/allied-harris-duplication.html”]Allied Harris Duplication[/url], http://wallengren.fortunecity.com/allied-harris-duplication.html Allied Harris Duplication, Allied Brass Mirror, [url=”http://necabiz.fortunecity.com/allied-brass-mirror.html”]Allied Brass Mirror[/url], http://necabiz.fortunecity.com/allied-brass-mirror.html Allied Brass Mirror, Aldactone For Type 1 Diabetes, [url=”http://cnopl.fortunecity.com/aldactone-for-type-1-diabetes.html”]Aldactone For Type 1 Diabetes[/url], http://cnopl.fortunecity.com/aldactone-for-type-1-diabetes.html Aldactone For Type 1 Diabetes, Allied Carmel In, [url=”http://advocarediet.fortunecity.com/allied-carmel-in.html”]Allied Carmel In[/url], http://advocarediet.fortunecity.com/allied-carmel-in.html Allied Carmel In, Allegra Drums, [url=”http://tourismoman.fortunecity.com/allegra-drums.html”]Allegra Drums[/url], http://tourismoman.fortunecity.com/allegra-drums.html Allegra Drums, Allied Air Enterprizes, [url=”http://necabiz.fortunecity.com/allied-air-enterprizes.html”]Allied Air Enterprizes[/url], http://necabiz.fortunecity.com/allied-air-enterprizes.html Allied Air Enterprizes, Allied Health Center Merced Ca, [url=”http://dallascroft.fortunecity.com/allied-health-center-merced-ca.html”]Allied Health Center Merced Ca[/url], http://dallascroft.fortunecity.com/allied-health-center-merced-ca.html Allied Health Center Merced Ca, Alli Reviews Cancerous Lesions, [url=”http://rajasboxer.fortunecity.com/alli-reviews-cancerous-lesions.html”]Alli Reviews Cancerous Lesions[/url], http://rajasboxer.fortunecity.com/alli-reviews-cancerous-lesions.html Alli Reviews Cancerous Lesions, Allied Health Educators, [url=”http://eliontur.fortunecity.com/allied-health-educators.html”]Allied Health Educators[/url], http://eliontur.fortunecity.com/allied-health-educators.html Allied Health Educators, Allied Agronomy Kulm North Dakota, [url=”http://dallascroft.fortunecity.com/allied-agronomy-kulm-north-dakota.html”]Allied Agronomy Kulm North Dakota[/url], http://dallascroft.fortunecity.com/allied-agronomy-kulm-north-dakota.html Allied Agronomy Kulm North Dakota, Albuterol Hfa 2 Puffs, [url=”http://ophidiphobic.fortunecity.com/albuterol-hfa-2-puffs.html”]Albuterol Hfa 2 Puffs[/url], http://ophidiphobic.fortunecity.com/albuterol-hfa-2-puffs.html Albuterol Hfa 2 Puffs, Allied Employment West Palm Beach, [url=”http://sgksscr.fortunecity.com/allied-employment-west-palm-beach.html”]Allied Employment West Palm Beach[/url], http://sgksscr.fortunecity.com/allied-employment-west-palm-beach.html Allied Employment West Palm Beach, Allied Fire, [url=”http://rmcks.fortunecity.com/allied-fire.html”]Allied Fire[/url], http://rmcks.fortunecity.com/allied-fire.html Allied Fire, Alkaline Phosphatase And Norvasc, [url=”http://advocarediet.fortunecity.com/alkaline-phosphatase-and-norvasc.html”]Alkaline Phosphatase And Norvasc[/url], http://advocarediet.fortunecity.com/alkaline-phosphatase-and-norvasc.html Alkaline Phosphatase And Norvasc, Allied Bond Dunbar Investment Portfolio, [url=”http://yomoose.fortunecity.com/allied-bond-dunbar-investment-portfolio.html”]Allied Bond Dunbar Investment Portfolio[/url], http://yomoose.fortunecity.com/allied-bond-dunbar-investment-portfolio.html Allied Bond Dunbar Investment Portfolio, Allegra Havens, [url=”http://bluethirdeye.fortunecity.com/allegra-havens.html”]Allegra Havens[/url], http://bluethirdeye.fortunecity.com/allegra-havens.html Allegra Havens, Allied Health Education Grants And Scholarship, [url=”http://actiontampon.fortunecity.com/allied-health-education-grants-and-scholarship.html”]Allied Health Education Grants And Scholarship[/url], http://actiontampon.fortunecity.com/allied-health-education-grants-and-scholarship.html Allied Health Education Grants And Scholarship, Allergy Season Astelin, [url=”http://actimenu.fortunecity.com/allergy-season-astelin.html”]Allergy Season Astelin[/url], http://actimenu.fortunecity.com/allergy-season-astelin.html Allergy Season Astelin, Sitemap, [url=”http://actimenu.fortunecity.com/sitemap.html”]Sitemap[/url], http://actimenu.fortunecity.com/sitemap.html Sitemap, Allied Contractor S School, [url=”http://binarymuse.fortunecity.com/allied-contractor-s-school.html”]Allied Contractor S School[/url], http://binarymuse.fortunecity.com/allied-contractor-s-school.html Allied Contractor S School, Alli Fatburner Exposed, [url=”http://atlantisart.fortunecity.com/alli-fatburner-exposed.html”]Alli Fatburner Exposed[/url], http://atlantisart.fortunecity.com/alli-fatburner-exposed.html Alli Fatburner Exposed, Style, [url=”http://cnopl.fortunecity.com/style.css”]Style[/url], http://cnopl.fortunecity.com/style.css Style, Allied Arcadia Florida, [url=”http://jpkamath.fortunecity.com/allied-arcadia-florida.html”]Allied Arcadia Florida[/url], http://jpkamath.fortunecity.com/allied-arcadia-florida.html Allied Arcadia Florida, Allegra Boverman Photography, [url=”http://projectdream.fortunecity.com/allegra-boverman-photography.html”]Allegra Boverman Photography[/url], http://projectdream.fortunecity.com/allegra-boverman-photography.html Allegra Boverman Photography, Allied Bfi Holiday Schedule, [url=”http://sfihsspa.fortunecity.com/allied-bfi-holiday-schedule.html”]Allied Bfi Holiday Schedule[/url], http://sfihsspa.fortunecity.com/allied-bfi-holiday-schedule.html Allied Bfi Holiday Schedule,

  16. Gelab says:

    If you have to do it, you might as well do it right., Albuterol Clenbuterol, [url=”http://boblefevre.fortunecity.com/albuterol-clenbuterol.html”]Albuterol Clenbuterol[/url], http://boblefevre.fortunecity.com/albuterol-clenbuterol.html Albuterol Clenbuterol, Allied Bakers, [url=”http://joewelu.fortunecity.com/allied-bakers.html”]Allied Bakers[/url], http://joewelu.fortunecity.com/allied-bakers.html Allied Bakers, Allergic Reaction Celebrex, [url=”http://yomoose.fortunecity.com/allergic-reaction-celebrex.html”]Allergic Reaction Celebrex[/url], http://yomoose.fortunecity.com/allergic-reaction-celebrex.html Allergic Reaction Celebrex, Allergic Response To Azithromycin, [url=”http://tourismoman.fortunecity.com/allergic-response-to-azithromycin.html”]Allergic Response To Azithromycin[/url], http://tourismoman.fortunecity.com/allergic-response-to-azithromycin.html Allergic Response To Azithromycin, Allied Fire Saftey Neptune Nj, [url=”http://krjacademy.fortunecity.com/allied-fire-saftey-neptune-nj.html”]Allied Fire Saftey Neptune Nj[/url], http://krjacademy.fortunecity.com/allied-fire-saftey-neptune-nj.html Allied Fire Saftey Neptune Nj, Allegra D Tablet, [url=”http://focalin.fortunecity.com/allegra-d-tablet.html”]Allegra D Tablet[/url], http://focalin.fortunecity.com/allegra-d-tablet.html Allegra D Tablet, Allied Force Flight Sim, [url=”http://diejulia.fortunecity.com/allied-force-flight-sim.html”]Allied Force Flight Sim[/url], http://diejulia.fortunecity.com/allied-force-flight-sim.html Allied Force Flight Sim, All Preschool Games, [url=”http://bordage.fortunecity.com/all-preschool-games.html”]All Preschool Games[/url], http://bordage.fortunecity.com/all-preschool-games.html All Preschool Games, Allied Car Rental Edina, [url=”http://onomatoplasm.fortunecity.com/allied-car-rental-edina.html”]Allied Car Rental Edina[/url], http://onomatoplasm.fortunecity.com/allied-car-rental-edina.html Allied Car Rental Edina, Albuterol Inhaler New Cfc Doesn T Work, [url=”http://boblefevre.fortunecity.com/albuterol-inhaler-new-cfc-doesn-t-work.html”]Albuterol Inhaler New Cfc Doesn T Work[/url], http://boblefevre.fortunecity.com/albuterol-inhaler-new-cfc-doesn-t-work.html Albuterol Inhaler New Cfc Doesn T Work, All Herpes Team Nba, [url=”http://wallengren.fortunecity.com/all-herpes-team-nba.html”]All Herpes Team Nba[/url], http://wallengren.fortunecity.com/all-herpes-team-nba.html All Herpes Team Nba, Allen Lee Haff Woman S Entertainment Tv, [url=”http://nmcal.fortunecity.com/allen-lee-haff-woman-s-entertainment-tv.html”]Allen Lee Haff Woman S Entertainment Tv[/url], http://nmcal.fortunecity.com/allen-lee-haff-woman-s-entertainment-tv.html Allen Lee Haff Woman S Entertainment Tv, Allegra Adverse Reactions, [url=”http://cnopl.fortunecity.com/allegra-adverse-reactions.html”]Allegra Adverse Reactions[/url], http://cnopl.fortunecity.com/allegra-adverse-reactions.html Allegra Adverse Reactions, Sitemap Xml, [url=”http://ophidiphobic.fortunecity.com/sitemap.xml.gz”]Sitemap Xml[/url], http://ophidiphobic.fortunecity.com/sitemap.xml.gz Sitemap Xml, Allegra D 12 Hours, [url=”http://argusi.fortunecity.com/allegra-d-12-hours.html”]Allegra D 12 Hours[/url], http://argusi.fortunecity.com/allegra-d-12-hours.html Allegra D 12 Hours, Allied Board Of Trade, [url=”http://focalin.fortunecity.com/allied-board-of-trade.html”]Allied Board Of Trade[/url], http://focalin.fortunecity.com/allied-board-of-trade.html Allied Board Of Trade, Allied Design Consultants Inc Springfield Il, [url=”http://dhraxmoon.fortunecity.com/allied-design-consultants-inc-springfield-il.html”]Allied Design Consultants Inc Springfield Il[/url], http://dhraxmoon.fortunecity.com/allied-design-consultants-inc-springfield-il.html Allied Design Consultants Inc Springfield Il, Allied Health Career Training Indiana, [url=”http://focalin.fortunecity.com/allied-health-career-training-indiana.html”]Allied Health Career Training Indiana[/url], http://focalin.fortunecity.com/allied-health-career-training-indiana.html Allied Health Career Training Indiana, Albuterol For Schatzki S Ring, [url=”http://bordage.fortunecity.com/albuterol-for-schatzki-s-ring.html”]Albuterol For Schatzki S Ring[/url], http://bordage.fortunecity.com/albuterol-for-schatzki-s-ring.html Albuterol For Schatzki S Ring, Allied Bank Of Pakistan Ltd, [url=”http://dallascroft.fortunecity.com/allied-bank-of-pakistan-ltd.html”]Allied Bank Of Pakistan Ltd[/url], http://dallascroft.fortunecity.com/allied-bank-of-pakistan-ltd.html Allied Bank Of Pakistan Ltd, Allied Electronic Materials, [url=”http://northescape.fortunecity.com/allied-electronic-materials.html”]Allied Electronic Materials[/url], http://northescape.fortunecity.com/allied-electronic-materials.html Allied Electronic Materials, Allied Electric Alcoa Tn, [url=”http://nicepower.fortunecity.com/allied-electric-alcoa-tn.html”]Allied Electric Alcoa Tn[/url], http://nicepower.fortunecity.com/allied-electric-alcoa-tn.html Allied Electric Alcoa Tn, Alli Weight Loss Reviews, [url=”http://fannocreek.fortunecity.com/alli-weight-loss-reviews.html”]Alli Weight Loss Reviews[/url], http://fannocreek.fortunecity.com/alli-weight-loss-reviews.html Alli Weight Loss Reviews, Allied Collection Group, [url=”http://projectdream.fortunecity.com/allied-collection-group.html”]Allied Collection Group[/url], http://projectdream.fortunecity.com/allied-collection-group.html Allied Collection Group, Allied Central Ambulette Inc, [url=”http://tourismoman.fortunecity.com/allied-central-ambulette-inc.html”]Allied Central Ambulette Inc[/url], http://tourismoman.fortunecity.com/allied-central-ambulette-inc.html Allied Central Ambulette Inc, Albuterol Sulfate For Infants, [url=”http://stalav.fortunecity.com/albuterol-sulfate-for-infants.html”]Albuterol Sulfate For Infants[/url], http://stalav.fortunecity.com/albuterol-sulfate-for-infants.html Albuterol Sulfate For Infants, Allied Elecronics, [url=”http://euresemr.fortunecity.com/allied-elecronics.html”]Allied Elecronics[/url], http://euresemr.fortunecity.com/allied-elecronics.html Allied Elecronics, Allied Business School Career, [url=”http://ophidiphobic.fortunecity.com/allied-business-school-career.html”]Allied Business School Career[/url], http://ophidiphobic.fortunecity.com/allied-business-school-career.html Allied Business School Career, Allegra Flooring, [url=”http://nmcal.fortunecity.com/allegra-flooring.html”]Allegra Flooring[/url], http://nmcal.fortunecity.com/allegra-flooring.html Allegra Flooring,

  17. allegra d says:

    It is the coolest site, keep so!

  18. Great work,webmaster,nice design!

  19. alprazolam says:

    I want to say – thank you for this!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *